Will You Hold Me? — Poem with explanation

I love you,

but do you love me?

Do you feel the world stop when you look at me?

Does your heart beat like a thousand bass drums

every time your gaze falls upon me?

Because every time you walk past me;

my heart yearns and I feel an ache.

And all I want is to be tucked in safe in your strong arms.

You told me that you liked the plump curve of my lips when I smiled.

You said you needed me every time distance stole me from your embrace.

So will you hold me?

When I need you?

Because I’m scared.

And I so desperately want your sweet whispers in my ears reminding me; “I’m still here.”

Because I’m scared; that you’d lie and that you were selfish.

Because you fell in love with the comfort I gave you.

You didn’t really love me.

You wanted me but wanting was never really a necessity.

What do you know about necessity?

Do you know I desire you so desperately.

As if you were the very air I breathed.

As if like Helios and his chariot you dragged the sun out into my world

and without that light no life would flourish.

So will you hold me?

Lest the blood pumping through my veins run dry.

Related image

Explanation:

I wrote this poem in the perspective of a person deeply in love. The mood of the poem has an uncertainty to it. The main character is sort of questioning if their partner feels the same way about them; they are looking for reassurance. At the same time the main character is elaborating on their feelings for their partner and how they feel as if they need their partners affection. The inspiration for this poem was “needing reassurance”. I wrote this poem to portray how every so often people need to be told that they are loved.

Image Reference:

http://488websitedesign.com/skeleton-how-to-draw/skeleton-how-to-draw-skeleton-hand-drawing-tumblr

https://tenor.com/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *